IM News for June 2012

Hope this beautiful June day finds you well…and busy planning your next knitting project.  It has for me.  After months away from knitting …and the projects piling up….I finally cast on my Little Colonade yesterday.  It’s an older pattern but I like it….and since I’ve never knit a triangle shawl before…yep that’s right, I haven’t…..it looked like an easy way to get started.  And to doubly inspire me The Sock Report went online (http://thesockreport.com/) the same day which is all about sock yarn and full of patterns to knit with it!  So I decided to use The Ultimate Sock Merino Blend for my Little Colonade.  So far I am loving it!  Of course, first I had to find the right needles to use.  Living on a small island I can’t pop over to my LYS and ….well…like most people I have a few projects on the go all using the same size circs I needed.  So first I tried the Addi Turbos cause it meant removing the least important project from the needles.  Nope, way too slippery for me.  Plastic? Metal?….well they sit on the shelf unused because I can’t bear them.  So instead I had to remove Ennid from her circs so I would have the bamboo Addis ….and they were perfect!  I find the bamboo easier on my hands and a bit more grabby.

And since I am knitting with the Paradise Blue…if you’d like to knit along Paradise Blue in The Ultimate Sock Blend is 20% off until June 15 when you mention blog 6212 . http://www.indigomoonyarns.com/product_info.php?products_id=743

In May I attended the 100 Mile Fleece and Fibre Festival in Coombs.  For those unable to attend you can still get some of the show specials while they last.

The Pur Silk is $40 (reg $58) http://www.indigomoonyarns.com/index.php?cPath=69&cart=3c2d374a7fabbdb52f2e35f163703a33

and The Finest Silk is $40 (reg $58) http://www.indigomoonyarns.com/index.php?cPath=68_58 on select colours.

In June I will be staying close to the studio and finally get back to dyeing.  With the renos in my yarn prep area (kinda) finished and my Mom back in ON it is time to fire up those dye pots….I’m so excited!!!!  Sometimes I’m amazed that I still love dyeing yarn so much after all these years…actually I may love it even more now than when I started…who’d have thought that could be!

Have a wonderful week.  And hope you like this new format for the newsletter.  Please feel free to comment on the blog – or to me personally if you prefer – I’d love to get feedback.   Rather than emailing the whole newsletter to your inbox – you can click on the link sent to you and never miss a newsletter (or specials or contests or or or ) again.  Also for those with slower internet connections no photos in the email works better for you.   For now we’ll say the newsletter is in Beta – still testing it out.

May your weeks be filled with many hours of blissful – uninterrupted  – knitting!

Enjoy!!!

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

